able disease, venereal diseases and tuberculosis; Maternal and Child Hygiene. responsible for an educational program in maternal, infant, pre-school and school health; Public Health Nursing, responsible for nursing education, field supervision, licensing and control of practical nurses, registry for crippled children, and general administration of all public-health nursing services. (3) The Extension Health Services Section administers the provisions of the Health Services Act, and consists of the Bureaus of: Local Health Services, responsible for the establishment, supervision, and general administration of local health units throughout the Province, the control of local part-time medical officers of health, consultative services to local and municipal health departments in Manitoba; Diagnostic Services, responsible for the establishment and general administration of diagnostic units set up in general hospitals in Manitoba; Medical Care, responsible for the approval of contracts for pre-payment medical care between a municipality, or municipalities, and the contracting physician, and for the payment of Provincial Government grants to the municipalities in aid of such service; Hospitalization, responsible for the organization and supervision of the establishment of hospital districts, medicalnursing units and hospital areas, together with the supervision of hospitals throughout the Province and the payment of Provincial Government grants to them: and the Bureaus of Dental Services, Physical Fitness and Nutrition Research. (4) Laboratory Services.

The Division of Psychiatric Services consists of the Bureaus of: Mental Institutions, responsible for the supervision and control of the four institutions—the Psychopathic Hospital, Winnipeg, the Hospitals for Mental Diseases at Selkirk and Brandon, and the Manitoba School for Mentally Defective Persons at Portage la Prairie; and Community Mental Health Services, responsible for out-patient services, child-guidance clinics, services to courts and child-caring agencies, boarding-home care for the mentally ill, and teaching facilities.

Welfare services of the Department are dealt with in Part II of this Chapter at p. 269.

Saskatchewan.—The Department of Public Health consists of 13 Divisions: (1) Administration; (2) Public Health Nursing conducts a program of publichealth nursing, infant and maternal welfare, school work, venereal disease, epidemiology, etc., and supervises maternity grants; (3) Communicable Diseases distributes free vaccines and sera to doctors and hospitals and supervises anterior poliomyelitis clinics, boards of health, medical health officers, medical examination of food-handlers, burial, disinterment and transportation of the dead and promotes immunization programs; (4) Sanitation has supervision of water-works, sewerage systems and drainage, food supplies including milk, and urban and rural sanitation; (5) The Division of Laboratories does routine public-health work in bacteriology, serology, chemistry and pathology and provides clinical diagnostic laboratory service for rural physicians; (6) Vital Statistics; (7) Mental Services has the care and treatment of patients in institutions for the mentally ill and mentally defective and of patients in the psychopathic ward at Regina, and the supervision of mental hygiene clinics; (8) Venereal Disease Control administers diagnostic and treatment services, epidemiology, and education; (9) Health Education conducts a program for modifying public opinion in favour of higher standards of health; (10) Nutrition creates interest in better food habits, emphasis being placed on nutrition of children with special attention to school lunches; (11) Physical Fitness and Recreation stimulates, organizes and assists social, cultural and athletic activities; (12) In-